May 30 day Challenge – Day 19

((So this blog is late because today, May 20th, my baby brother came to visit. He’s on a TDY with the Air Force at a base nearby. I had the stuff to do, and the post fell out of my head.))

Yes, I did walk today but my camera was dead. Silly me didn’t think to check my battery at all these last few days. When I picked it up to head out, the black screen dead. No fear listened to Harry Potter and got my miles in faster than normal. I still wanted to share photos then I got this idea.

As a photographer, like most artists, I share with the world the photos I am proud of. The one’s out of the few hundred I take a week that turns out, that work. But behind those very few as ones that just did not turn out. Today I am sharing just a few that just missed the mark. Because we all have them, it’s part of life and all forms of art. Sometimes I feel like I’m an awful photographer because of the number of failures I have on my iPad or have even deleted.

It’s important to remember that bad photos happen. And even more scary, bad photo edits (nightmare fuel sometimes). But when you embrace those mistakes or bad turnouts, they help you become a better artist. Just in these past weeks, by understanding my photos that just didn’t work out I had a better understanding of my manual settings. A few times this week I have been able to guess the perfect settings for a photo. If I had just ignored my bad photos I would have never developed those skills.

So your most important pieces of work are those that just didn’t turn out.

Today is day 19, the high here was 98, I walked 2, miles making it 40.9/100 miles.

Want to support me? Help me reach my goals? Check out this link!

Leave a comment